Detergent Master

Never have I ever made homemade laundry and dishwasher detergent. Yes, I’m going green, old school, and awesome. I woke up on Saturday morning, ready to do some dishes and laundry, and realized I was completely out of both types of detergent. Annoying. So, I decided this was the perfect time to do something new! I did a little Pinterest reaseach (the best kind) and found some recipes. Then I ran out to Target to pick up the needed supplies.

First up, the Dishwasher Detergent.

Ingredients:

  • Borax
  • Baking Soda
  • Kool Aid Sugar Free Lemonade
  • Vinegar (to put in the rinse thing where Jet Dry usually goes)

Basically I just threw everything together (minus the vinegar), and mixed it up. It literally took 30 seconds.

Done and Done. Even in a cute little labeled tupperware bowl. I’m so domestic.

Next up, the Laundry Detergent.

  • Ingredients:
  • Borax
  • Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • Ivory soap
I totally forgot to get the Super Washing Soda at first and almost used baking soda (THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TRAGEDY), but thankfully, I figured it out just in time. A quick run out to Harris Teeter did the trick.

First, I grated two bars of Ivory Soap with my trusty broken, rusted grater.

It looked like cheese.

Then I mixed in the Borax and Washing Soda and shook it up for about 3 mins.

The Verdict: It was so easy! And suprisingly, both detergents work really well. I did a load of towels and I swear they feel and smell cleaner than they do with my normal store bought detergent. The major bonus, the ingredients for both cost me less than $20 and I have plenty left to make more “batches” of detergents. Win Win.

-Maria

3 thoughts on “Detergent Master

  1. mdobyns says:

    I’m gonna try that! I’m pinteresting for some homemade cat litter too. That stuff is so expensive and lasts about 2 seconds with our poop machine cats!

  2. Is it strange that I knew this was Maria’s post before I scrolled down to see the author…..just by the handwriting on the top of the plastic GLAD container? Um no, that’s just called 20 years of friendship. Can’t wait to smell your clean clothes sometime soon! ❤

Leave a Reply

