Oil It Up

Never have I ever cleaned my face with oil. Yes, you heard me right, with oil. In one of my many 4 hour Pinterest binges, I came across this little pin:

Below it, it said “Oil Cleansing Method”. I was intrigued right away. What the heck is this whole thing about? I clicked on the link, and this is what it told me:

Oil Cleansing in 3 Easy Steps

  1. Prepare. Either mix your oils together ahead of time, or have the bottles ready. Set a clean washcloth beside the sink. Turn the hot water on to warm up.
  2. Cleanse. Starting with a dirty face (no need to pre-clean here, even if you’re wearing makeup), rinse your face lightly with the warm, running water. Pour the oil in the palm of your hand and then apply gently all over your face. Massage firmly, but gently, always moving upwards. Massage for 2 minutes, and then let the oil sit on your face for 30 more seconds or more.
  3. Rinse. By now, you should have very hot water coming out of your faucet. Adjust the heat until it’s cool enough to apply to your skin, but warm enough to soften the oil (it’s probably going to be hotter than the water you usually rinse your face with). Dunk the washcloth under the hot/warm water until it’s completely soaked. Apply the washcloth to your face and hold it there for 10-15 seconds. Slowly begin to wipe off. Rinse your washcloth and repeat until you’ve wiped all the oil off your skin.

Crazy right? I was thinking my skin would immediately break out terribly, but I decided to try it. I’ve always had pretty awful skin. Breakouts all the time. I’m now 28, and I’m ready for that part of my life to END.

So I went to my kitchen to check out what I had. You are supposed to use a mixture of Castor Oil and Extra Virgin Olive Oil, but all I had was the EVOO. It was already 9:30 pm, so I decided to just test it out with what I had instead of going to the store.

I went to the bathroom, dumped a ton of oil in my hands, and started massaging it into my face. I’m not going to lie, it felt weird. Amazingly though, it took off all of my eye makeup. Then I put a washcloth with really hot water on my face. Now that was amazing. It was like a mini facial. I kept doing the steps a few times until it felt clean.

I’m so used to having my face feel really tight after washing it, so this was totally different. It felt really hydrated and not all red and irritated. I’ve decided I’m going to test this for a few weeks and see how my face looks. I have some breakouts right now, so if those are gone by then, I may just be hooked.

-Maria

Leave a Reply

