Spring Break

What’s that? You don’t still enjoy spring break? Oh shoot, that is too bad for you. I love a good spring break. They have only gotten better since college, because now I have more money than I did then. I am heading here on Saturday:

   

more to come on this next week

To get even more excited for the trip, I thought I could share my best/weirdest spring break experience. A few years ago my friend Caroline and I went to Cozumel, Mexico. Yes, we did have more money than in college, but we still travel on a budget. We decided to go to an all inclusive resort. We knew it wouldn’t be perfect, that there would be lots of people, but we knew there would also be a lot of surf, suds and sun. We arrived and thought it was so nice to be in the warm sun, but the jillions of people who looked like they could have been on Jersey Shore in their youth was a little depressing.

the path to the beach

On the second night we were lounging on the beds when a letter was slipped under the door. It said something to the effect of: “We have opened a new resort and it is almost empty. We are upgrading you to The Aura.” I had a moment of thinking, what is the catch. A moment, then we packed our stuff and marched right over to the office in the morning. The Aura was a different world. Probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to.

The view from our front porch

There were men bringing us drinks and guacamole on the beach, a beach bar for lunch, a living room with a mini bar stocked with whatever we wanted all for the same price we had been paying at the cruise on land.

This place was still under construction and was close to empty. Caroline is fast to make friends and one night made friends with one of the people working at the roof top bar. “This place is soon to be a lifestyles* resort. Do you know lifestyles?” He said to her (I am not quite sure that the word was actually lifestyles). Caroline did not know and he quickly informed her that it meant that clothing would soon be optional.

This really added to the mystique of the place. They were building a night club, there was a roof top bar with pillars for dancing. Weird, weird, weird.

In researching for this post, I found no mention of the lifestyle, but I like to think they are keeping that of the net. In my mind, forever, Caroline and I spent a wonderful week in a hotel that was soon to be a nudist resort.

*Late breaking news:I just did some more research. It seems my memory can stand IN TACT! It was slated to be a lifestyles resort, but was pressured into not doing so.

One thought on “Spring Break

  1. Caroline says:

    Yesssss!! Please bear in mind when Hannah says “surf, suds, and sun” she thinks that “suds” is beach foam….oh Hannah.

Leave a Reply

