Society Fair

Ever since I read about Society Fair on eater I have wanted to go.

I have tried several times, and when I google maps led me to this:

dang you, google maps.

I thought today wouldn’t be the day either. Luckily, I didn’t rely solely on the navigation. Rather I looked the place up manually (still on my phone) I saw the address was on a different street. This:

was to be found on the same building, but on Washington instead of Duke.

As soon as I walked in, I knew I would be walking out with something. Not necessarily because everything looked so great, but because there was almost no one in there. I have mentioned this before, but I get anxious in buying situations and appease that anxiety by always buying. It is a complex anxiety that I can’t help and is especially bad in empty places.

Luckily for me, there were good things to buy


I did not walk out with cake, although it looked really good. Instead I got tomato soup, crostini and some blue cheese. Some makings for a good dinner.

Fine, I got some lemonade too.

The soup: smelled better than it tasted. It smelled AMAZING. It tasted good, but was a little thick and kind of spicy.

The cheese: it was delicious. Well I made it into an amazing salad. I bought canned pears when I had the flu but never ate them. I thought, those could be darn good on some salad but the texture wouldn’t be quite right. I decided to saute them. Warm pears, cold cheese, crostini. This might be the best decision I have ever made. I hate to oversell this, but this salad was freaking amazing.

I wish I was still eating it.

And so do you.

-Hannah

 

Leave a Reply

