Bikram Yoga

Never have I ever gone to Bikram Yoga,, until last night. My brave friend Amanda bought a Groupon for Bikram Yoga in Fairfax, so I decided to try the first class with her. I started looking at pictures of Bikram online yesterday during work and quickly started having panic attacks. I mean, who wouldn’t have panic attacks over these pictures:

The class was at 5:15. I was running late and ran into the studio right at 5:00.  I quickly changed into my yoga gear and then we entered the room. A few things to set the stage:
1. The room was smaller than my living room. No joke.
2. The room was freaking hot. There is really no other way to describe it. Just really, really hot.
3. It was all girls. Mostly young, college aged girls that probably go to Mason. Many of them look as though they do this class every day.
4. The instructor didn’t come in for at least 5-10 mins, so everyone laid on their mats, relaxing. I was simply laying there deciding how easy it would be to run out of the room.
The instructor came in and we got started. She was probably in her mid thirties and was very nice. I was nervous the instructor would be a dictator, so this was a relief. She did talk REALLY fast though, so half the time I had no idea what she was saying. I also thought she would be doing the poses with us, but instead, she stood in front and talked us through it. That seems like the worst job in the world to me-standing in a room sweating profusely watching other people sweat profusely.
It was crazy how quickly I was drenched in sweat. Like sweat rolling down my arms and legs, into my eyes, unable to hold my legs in poses kind of sweat. It was intense. The girl in front of me was hardcore, she must come every day. I just watched her through the whole class so I knew what the heck I was doing. Halfway through the class I sort of started to freak. I wanted to run. It felt like it would be years before we would be done. I did have to sit down a few times because I felt like I was going to throw up, but I made it through.
Would I go back? I think so. Did I love it? Not exactly. Did I feel like I lost about 100 pounds in water weight? Yes.
-Maria
Leave a Reply

