Devotional Mania

Never have I ever done a devotional time every day. Now, that sounds a little intense, I’ve done devotional/Bible reading/quiet times off and on for most of my adult life, but it definitely goes in waves. I’ve never made it a definite part of my every day life, like showering or eating. I was really convicted at church on Sunday by the sermon. That I really need to be spending time with God in order to hear His plans for my life. Funny how that works!

So, for the next 30 days (I always have to give myself a timed goal to start out with) I’m waking up earlier and doing a 30 min quiet time. For me, this is hard. I love sleep. BUT, I’ve decided I love God more. The last two days I’ve woken up a little before 7:00 and done a devotional until 7:30. I’ve started the study by Kay Arthur called Lord, Give Me a Heart for You. It’s all about Paul and his mission. In two days, I’m already completely inspired.

It really is amazing how waking up early and spending time with God affects my entire day. I feel less anxious, less stressed at work, and happier. I think I’m going to love these 30 days.

-Maria

Leave a Reply

