Golfing

Never have I ever gone golfing. Yes, that’s a fact. It has kind of always terrified me. It seems so intense, and hard, and a bit stuck up. The funny thing is that I LOVE watching golf on tv. I could watch it for hours. They do make it look so easy though, which is not true at all.

We went to a 9 hole course on Saturday to try it out. It was blazing hot, so we decided to rent a golf cart so we didn’t have to walk 9 holes. Best idea ever…and let’s be honest, driving a golf cart is so awesome. I’ve basically never even swung a golf club before, so the first hole was a bit interesting. I started to see what all the fuss was about by the third hole. It’s fun, it’s relaxing, and it is a great activity to do on a weekend. Win win. I started to actually care about how well I was doing. I actually got FAIRLY decent at it. That is extremely relative, but at least I could hit the ball…and get it fairly close to the hole….and not fall while doing it. Also, I’ve found myself watching riveting videos like these:

 

 

All in all, I would really like to play again! I’d love to take a class to learn all of the ins and outs of everything, but at least I know feel comfortable enough to (possibly) golf with other people and not feel like a complete idiot. Mission accomplished!

-Maria

Leave a Reply

