A Korean Interview

Yes, you read that right. I had a Korean interview last week.

I am looking for a part time job. My job for Young Life is part time, and thus, I need something else to do. I have been scouring craigslist, monster, the Washington Post, really everywhere for jobs. What comes naturally to me, obviously, is jobs with education. I have found quite a few options, but there is always something weird.

Last Thursday was my first interview. My first craigslist job interview, exciting. I was nervous, didn’t know what to wear, what to bring or anything of the sort. The details on the job were sketchy: it was in the education industry, the hours listed were from 10-8 and they only hired certified teachers. This sounds good to me.

I got there a little early and drove around a bit to waste time. Finally the appropriate time had arrived, so I walked to the door.

This is basically what was starting back at me.

This isn’t the actual door, truth be told, but I did try to take a picture and heard some creaking and got nervous. This is the result:

Once I got in, it was clear that my interview was for a typical tutoring agency, which doesn’t work perfectly with my schedule these days. But all I could hear was someone speaking in Korean. I followed the voice to find the woman and she told me she would be right with me and asked me to fill out some papers. I filled out the very extensive application and waited. And waited. And waited. This was quite a phone call this woman was on. The most interesting part of it all was she was the only one talking. The poor listener on the other end of the conversation! I wish I knew what she was talking about.

After a half an hour, no joke, she gets off the phone and calls me back to her table.

“You seem like you would be better suited for elementary school. Can you work in Centreville?” No lie. That is the first “question.” I said sure, so she picked that phone back up and started a dialing.

I could hear the ringing upstairs.

Someone picked up and I could hear the exchange both through the phone and with their real voices. I never did see the mysterious other speaker.

The final result was that yes, it would be better for me to work in Centreville. After this, the interviewer just jumped right into what my classes would be and the hours.

I had to interrupt her excited description to tell her that this didn’t seem like it was the right fit for me.

I wish I had understood all that had been said while I was in that room. I think it would only add to the story.

-Hannah

One thought on “A Korean Interview

  1. […] a lot, but never searched for a job and interviewed. Until now. I know that I talked about the Korean Interview, but that was just one of […]

Leave a Reply

