Neti Pot…well, kind of.

My brother is obsessed with the neti pot, and I have always laughed at it and thought it was gross simultaneously. This week I got a pretty bad cold which was making me feel miserable and my friend Missy gave me an extra NeilMed sinus rinse, which is the same idea as the neti pot.  I decided to go out on a limb and give it a try.

the bottle.

Missy gave me a strong warning to use boiled water because there is some danger of shooting parasites into your brain otherwise. That sounded like it was probably a slim chance, but not a chance worth taking. I boiled some water, but didn’t calculate in how long it would take for that water to cool back down to a useable temp. I started to become impatient, so I decided to take matters into my own hands:

It took me a while of this to realize this wasn’t the fastest way to cool it down either. Eventually I poured the water into a glass measuring cup and got much better results. (please note the empty freezer, I moved into my new apartment!) Finally the water approached a reasonable temperature and I added in the magic powder.

If you want to see more documentation of how this goes, please watch this:

Start at 1:20, that is where the amazing action begins.

I will say, it was pretty fantastic. I had a few minutes of relief after, but it was not a cure-all, a panacea by no means. I am pretty sure this is meant to be preventative rather than a cure.

-Hannah

One thought on “Neti Pot…well, kind of.

  1. Jen says:

    I cannot believe you actually worked the word “panacea” into your post. I’m thinking you wrote this whole thing around that word. Kudos, my friend

Leave a Reply

