No cable

Never have I ever gone without TV. Well, that is a semi-lie. I grew up only being able to watch TV on the weekends. Seriously, from elementary school until my final day of high school. Yes, there was some sneaking when my mom was not there, but she was there most of the time. They put the rule into place when I was in elementary school because of a deep love that both my sister Maria and I have for it. My oldest sister, Sally, never really liked it.

People have often asked how I was able to keep up with popular culture. I guess I am some kind of a genius. We also never had cable. My parents got it when I went to college. Coincidence? Probably not. It was also around the time that the Redskins moved to fox, and we never got good reception on that channel.

When I first lived on my own I told people I wasn’t going to get cable. That lasted for a second. I got it, and I loved every second of it. But now, things are different. My budget for entertainment has been slashed a little.

Luckily, I have the internet and that provides me with all the TV entertainment I need. My dad lives close by, so I can watch what I want with him, other than that my needs are met through:

and

It isn’t even a hardship, actually. The only thing I miss out on is Bravo. There are a lot of cat-fights I am not able to see these days.

-Hannah

Leave a Reply

