Bedroom change up

Never have I ever painted my bedroom furniture. It is antique mahogany furniture passed down from my grandmother. I love it so much. Unfortunately, it was in less than stellar shape. The stain was looking rough and it just looked beat up. So I decided to paint it with my new favorite Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.

photo 2

photo 6So I decided to go with the Original- kind of an off white color. I started painting without sanding or anything, just wiped it down before I started. So awesome. The whole project took me over a month, but it was well worth it. The part that took the longest was waxing all of the furniture. After that, I sanded some of the edges to make it look more distressed. I also spray painted the really tarnished bronze handles in Oil Rubbed Bronze.

All in all, I think it turned out awesome. I love how it looks; a little Anthropologie meets upscale flea market. Here are some after pictures for your enjoyment.

Halfway done

Halfway done

 

Pre waxing

Pre waxing

 

Done and Done.

Done and Done.

 

My favorite.

My favorite.

-Maria

Leave a Reply

