Discipline

I am sure there is a riddle somewhere about something that everyone wants more of and the answer is discipline. Who’s with me?

This is something I have been thinking a lot about over the past few weeks. Actually all year. I started with my money, and am now am thinking about my free time.

I love to read. That is what I say, but in all honesty, I haven’t been reading much for a while. I was an English major in college and remember reading a book a week for each of my classes. On vacation, I can’t stop reading. One time, while away for 2 weeks I read every book that everyone brought, including:

I was bored.

But these days I often choose television over reading. I don’t have tons of free time, I have Young Life stuff most nights. But, I find myself spending very little time reading these days just for enjoyment, instead I am spending a lot of time with Tim Riggins (Friday Night Lights, if you haven’t watched it…do it).

I gave myself a homework assignment. 30 minutes a day. I used to require my students to read for 20 minutes a day simply to increase their love of reading. I decided this is what I need as well.

I am reading:

It is good. Luckily I have given myself a homework assignment that is enjoyable.

In other areas of discipline, I am keeping my phone in my bag while in the car. That could be a little harder.

-Hannah

Leave a Reply

