New Table

Now I will probably take on a slew of home projects. Or not.

This coffee table has been a part of my life since I was 5. Maybe younger.

mail-2

There used to be hot pink nail polish on it from my sister and I trying out a fresh new look, unsuccessfully. When I went to college, my parents decided it was time to get rid of the industrial furniture they had needed with 4 kids and sent the table with me.

I have had it in every house since. It is turning out to be one of the constants in my life.

But, just because it is old, doesn’t mean it can’t change.

Maria loves painting furniture and always talks about how great Annie Sloan Chalk Paint is, so I decided to give it a whirl. You don’t have to sand before painting, that is the real draw. After a few failed attempts to buy it, I finally had the paint in hand and needed to start. Stat.

050a44e68c5011e2b74e22000a9e07d7_6

I didn’t have a tarp and didn’t have the patience to wait, so I fashioned one out of old grocery bags.

mail

I had the genius idea of turning the table on its back and paint the underside first. It was like I was a pro.

DSC_0092

I painted it and painted it again. 2 coats and this thing was ready to go.  After painting, Annie (of Annie Sloan) suggest using a wax. I bought the wrong wax, and had to go back to Falls Church for the 4th time, and started without any directions. Usually the way I operate, and usually a mistake.

I put on way to much wax and had to spend hours buffing it with old t-shirts so it isn’t sticky when you touch it. But FINALLY, after many trips to Falls Church and hours of buffing, the table is done and I am so happy with it!

mail-1

I took it outside so the actual color would show in a picture.

The finished product.

2013-03-19_10-13-20_99

It’s girly, sure.

-Hannah

One thought on “New Table

  1. […] on track. Ever since I have lived on my own, I have gathered furniture. Most of it is from IKEA or hand-me-downs.  I have a lot of the stuff I had in college, and I have added to it. When I moved into Camelot, […]

Leave a Reply

