Contraband

I stole something yesterday. Never have I ever done this before. Well, that’s a lie.

I stole a giant plastic paperclip when I was in 3rd grade. But it was an accident, I just stuck it in my pocket to avoid having my sister see it. Who doesn’t want a giant plastic paperclip for Valentine’s Day? Side note: my mom took us to Hallmark to buy Valentine’s day presents for each other? I am just realizing now how many presents that is-20. Jeez.

When I realized I had the paperclip, my mom made me go back to the store and pay for it. I was in tears. Embarrassing.

I wasn’t in tears this time.

2013-03-20_13-48-51_329

My friends that I lead Young Life with used to live in this house. We called it The Porch. In October, they were told that they had to leave the house because it was going to be torn down November 1.

Yesterday was the first day of spring, and the house still stands. Not only does it stand, but there are tons of daffodils adorning the yard.

mail

Every time I go to Trader Joe’s I am tempted to buy bunches of these. But on the first day of spring, I decided to take a walk on the wild side and go cut some myself.

You can bet I was nervous.

mail-1

They are all different lengths, because I was too scared to really take my time. I also didn’t get nearly as many as I wanted. Each car that came down the tiny street I was sure was coming after me. Aiming to stop me in this act of vandalism.

As I skid out of their street, the first thing I saw was a police car.

31a15bf891d111e28f3922000aaa2151_6

How did they find me so quickly? I didn’t even have time to cut and die my hair!

-Hannah

One thought on “Contraband

  1. Brenna says:

    Love it, love it, love this story. I can totally picture this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

