Flood waters

Never have I ever flooded my neighbor’s apartment below me. Let me explain. Monday morning I left for work, then around 12:00 pm I got a call from my roommate saying that the neighbor below us was basically wading in water in her apartment. After much panic, we come to find out that the toilet in my bathroom overflowed and seeped into my floors and the entire apartment below. Joy of joys!

It was really insane how quickly the whole problem was addressed. Plumbers and flood disaster relief people were there at a moments notice to vaccuum out all of the water from the downstairs apartment and put massive fans in all of the rooms.  Who knows where these people came from, but it was awesome.

Some fan action.

Some fan action.

photo 4

The trusty plumber man doing his thing.

The trusty plumber man doing his thing.

Thankfully, we still have a roof over our heads. Some of the floors need to be replaced, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s a walk in the park. I do love that my bedroom has been nicknamed “The Vortex” because of the sheer amount of noise coming from the 7 industrial sized flood fans running 24/7. I’ve been sleeping like a baby.

-Maria

 

Leave a Reply

