Wrong Numbers

For the past few weeks I have been getting phone calls from an unnamed local number.

(that isn’t actually my phone).

Unknown callers bring out the real optimist in me. A secret admirer has found my number, someone wants to offer me a deal I can’t refuse on countless things, or the like.

I rarely think it is a courtesy call (which it always is).

This number was persistent. Day after day I would look down having just missed a call from them.  How is it possible?

This morning was my lucky day. The phone was ringing, now is my chance to meet my destiny.

“Hello?” I answer with an eager fervor.

Pause….an obvious sign of a courtesy call, “Hello, may I please speak to Mort?”

Dang you courtesy wrong numbers.

-Hannah

Leave a Reply

