Wow. It has been a long time, huh?

Never have I ever, where have you gone? I know you all have been missing me. Let’s be honest.

group

So, in true Never Have I Ever fashion, I am writing a blog post like I never have before.  I am writing about my job and asking you to help.As many of you know, I quit my job as a teacher and started working for Young Life. Young Life is a group I have volunteered with since I was in college and I am thrilled to be working for them.  We need to raise $50,000 more in this upcoming calendar year than we have in years past. This is a huge undertaking and I would love your help.

First let me give you some background information:

chillin

Why did you quit your stable job teaching, you ask? Well that is a complicated answer. The short answer is: I was called. That sounds bizarre. So here is more: after years of teaching I began to grow dissatisfied with the job. As this was happening, I first started working with college students for Young Life. I was losing enthusiasm for teaching, while I was gaining enthusiasm for working with college kids. While I had been volunteering for years with Young Life, I didn’t feel like I hit my stride until I started working at George Mason. After considering what my next move would be, for several reasons it seemed that I was called to work with Young Life College at George Mason.

dance

What do you do? If you haven’t asked this question, you have probably thought it. This job looks really different than teaching did, obviously, but I am still working just as hard. My job is to mentor students,  train and develop Young Life leaders for the area, while running a non-profit. Derek (who I work with) spend time in the office doing expense reports, fundraising and planning strategically. But, we also spend time on the campus meeting with students, leading Bible studies and training students to become Young Life leaders in the area. It looks different everyday and it is greatly satisfying.

murica

What can I do to help? I know that at the end of the year, people are considering making year end contributions to many different organizations. I would love for you to think about adding Mason Young Life to that list. As I said before, we are seeking to raise $50, 000 more this year than we have in the past. This money is not a raise for me or Derek, instead it allows us to continue pouring into the lives of students at George Mason as they enter into what can be a confusing part of adolescence. If that is something you are interested in, please click here and follow the instructions. I am available to answer any questions you might have!

christmas

Merry Christmas, ya’ll! And thanks for taking the time to read this!

-Hannah

Leave a Reply

